The Word Shall Heal

Pope Benedict XVI celebrates the Eucharist, a ...

Image via Wikipedia

One of my most favorite moments in the Catholic Mass is when as a congregation, everyone speaks together during the Eucharistic celebration, “Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the Word and I shall be healed.” This is derived from today’s Gospel reading. The centurion, a man of compassion and great faith, humbles himself to the Lord to ask for healing for his suffering servant who lies at home paralyzed.

Lord, I am not worthy to have you under my roof; only say the word and my servant will be healed. (Matt 8:8 NAB)

Read the rest of this post on my new blog, Variegated Vision…
The Word Shall Heal (mollyjayne40.wordpress.com)
All other content from this site has been moved there as well.

2 responses to “The Word Shall Heal

  1. Wow, that’s so cool! I never thought about Communion this way. I bet you don’t feel lonely very often. 🙂 God Bless you.

    • I’d like to say “of course,” but knowing and feeling don’t always equate with each other for me; I’m a Christian like so many others who struggles with the need for personal connection but Communion is one time I do really feel it.

Leave a Reply

